



Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene 201 W. Preston Street • Baltimore, Maryland 21201 Martin O'Malley, Governor – Anthony G. Brown, Lt. Governor – Joshua M. Sharfstein, M.D., Secretary

May 6, 2014

The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr. President of the Senate H-107 State House Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

The Honorable Michael E. Busch Speaker of the House H-101 State House Annapolis, MD 21401-1991

Re: Health-General Article § 10-208(d) – Report on the Mental Hygiene Community-Based Services Fund for Fiscal Year 2013

Dear President Miller and Speaker Busch:

Pursuant to the Health-General Article §10-208(d), the Department of Health and Mental Hygiene (Department) submits this report on the Mental Hygiene Community-Based Services Fund ("Fund"). The money in the Fund is the Mental Hygiene Administration's (MHA) portion of the Community Services Trust Fund account. Monies in the Fund are to be used to meet the needs of individuals leaving State facilities to enter community-based services. Any unspent portions of the Fund may not be transferred or revert to the General Fund of the State but must remain in the Fund to be used for specified purposes.

The Mental Hygiene Community Services Trust Fund currently has a relatively small balance of \$3.1 million, which includes interest earnings between fiscal year 2012 and fiscal year 2013 of \$32,500. Any monies used from this fund were used for community-based services as required.

The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr. The Honorable Michael E. Busch Page 2

The number of individuals served in the community increased 5.5 percent from fiscal year 2012 to fiscal year 2013, while the numbers served in MHA facilities remained static for the same period in time.

I hope that this information is useful. If you have any further questions, please contact Ms. Allison Taylor, Director of the Office of Governmental Affairs, at 410-767-6480.

Sincerely,

an. Alsofort

Joshua M. Sharfstein, M.D. Secretary

cc: Gayle Jordan-Randolph, M.D. Allison Taylor Brian Hepburn, M.D. Stacey Diehl Marion Katsereles Sarah T. Albert, MSAR# 290