Joint Committee on Federal Relations

2012 Interim Membership Roster

Senator Jennie M. Forehand, Senate Co-chair Delegate Tom Hucker, House Co-chair

Senators

Robert J. Garagiola Verna L. Jones-Rodwell Roger Manno Douglas J.J. Peters Jamin B. Raskin James C. Rosapepe Christopher B. Shank

Delegates

Emmett C. Burns, Jr. C. William Frick Jeannie Haddaway-Riccio James W. Hubbard Anne R. Kaiser Nicholaus R. Kipke Kirill Reznik

Committee Staff

Michael Bender Steve McCulloch



THE MARYLAND GENERAL ASSEMBLY Annapolis, Maryland 21401-1991

Joint Committee on Federal Relations

December 12, 2012

The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., Co-chairman The Honorable Michael E. Busch, Co-chairman Members of the Legislative Policy Committee

Ladies and Gentlemen:

The Joint Committee on Federal Relations respectfully submits this report on committee activities during the 2012 interim. Pursuant to Title 2, Subtitle 9 of the State Government Article, the committee is responsible for monitoring the effects of federal proposals on the State, reviewing interstate compacts, and generally promoting cooperation between the State and federal governments. The committee's major activities are summarized below.

Site Visit to the United States Food and Drug Administration (FDA) – On October 3 the committee visited the FDA's Element Building in Rockville, Maryland. The intent of the site visit was to meet with FDA officials and receive a briefing on various important issues which may affect the State. The site visit featured five presentations touching on a wide variety of recent developments and FDA accomplishments.

- Mr. Nathan Brown, Senior Counselor for the FDA's Office of Regulatory Affairs, provided information on the FDA's mission, the structure of the office, and a summary of recent legislation and growing challenges.
- Mr. Joe Reardon, Senior Advisor on Federal State Relations for the FDA's Office of Partnerships, gave an overview of federal state relations with other FDA officials providing insight.
- Dr. William Flynn, Deputy Director of Science Policy for the FDA'S Center for Veterinary Medicine, gave a presentation entitled "Arsenic in Animal Drugs."
- Mr. Domenic Veneziano, Director of FDA's Division of Import Operations, provided an overview of import operations.
- Ms. Selen Stromgren, Acting Director of FDA's Medical Products and Tobacco Scientific Staff, gave an overview of FDA laboratories.

The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr., Co-chairman The Honorable Michael E. Busch, Co-chairman Members of the Legislative Policy Committee December 12, 2012 Page 2

The Affordable Care Act and the State of Maryland – On October 17 the joint committee welcomed two presenters to discuss the State's transition to the new requirements imposed by the Affordable Care Act. Ms. Rebecca Pierce, Executive Director of the Maryland Health Benefit Exchange, provided information on the background of the exchange, how both individuals and small businesses will interact with the exchange, and an implementation update.

Additionally, Dr. Hamid Fakhraei of the Hilltop Institute gave a presentation entitled "The Impact of the Affordable Care Act on Maryland." The presentation featured models which attempted to predict the number of uninsured individuals in Maryland for future years.

Interstate Compacts – Also during the same October 17 meeting, the committee completed its review of the following interstate compacts:

- Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Compact;
- Middle Atlantic Interstate Forest Fire Protection Compact;
- Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority Compact;
- Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Commission;
- Interstate Compact for Adult Offender Supervision; and
- Interstate Compact for Juveniles.

The joint committee concurred with the agencies' positions regarding the compacts and, for the record, indicated that each of these compacts warrant Maryland's continued participation.

The joint committee looks forward to continuing its role as a forum for discussion of important issues in State-federal relations.

Sincerely,

Jennie M. Forehand Senate Co-chair Tom Hucker House Co-chair

JMF:TH/MFB/mpc

cc: Mr. Karl S. Aro Ms. Lynne B. Porter Mr. Warren G. Deschenaux