

Martin O'Malley Governor

Anthony G. Brown Lt. Governor

James T. Smith, Jr. Secretary

June 27, 2014

The Honorable Martin O'Malley Governor of Maryland State House Annapolis MD 21401-1991

Dear Governor O'Malley:

This letter was prepared in response to requirements set forth in § 2-103.4(b) of the Transportation Article concerning special appointments within the Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT). Specifically, this section directs:

- "(b) (1) In the exercise of the Secretary's powers under this section, the Secretary may:
 - (i) Create and abolish any position other than positions specifically provided for in this article; and
 - (ii) Determine the disqualifications, appointment, removal, tenure, terms of employment, and compensation of employees unless otherwise prohibited by law.
 - (2) The Secretary shall designate executive service employee and commission plan employee positions in the Human Resources Management System that:
 - (i) Must be filled without regard to political affiliation, belief, or opinion; or
 - (ii) In accordance with the criteria established under § 6-405(b) of the State Personnel and Pensions Article, may be filled with regard to political affiliation, belief, or opinion.
 - (3) On an annual basis, the Secretary shall report on the total number of positions designated under paragraph (2) of this subsection to the Governor and, in accordance with § 2-1246 of the State Government Article, to the General Assembly."

The positions listed below include those that were eligible to be filled with regard to political affiliation, belief, or opinion. These positions relate to political interests or concerns and according to statute, political affiliation may be considered for the position. The following positions meet the current definition in § 6-405(b)(i) of the State Personnel and Pensions Article.



Martin O'Malley Governor

Anthony G. Brown Lt. Governor

James T. Smith, Jr. Secretary

June 27, 2014

The Honorable Thomas V. "Mike" Miller, Jr. President, Maryland Senate State House Annapolis MD 21401-1991

The Honorable Michael E. Busch Speaker, Maryland House of Delegates State House Annapolis MD 21401-1991

Dear President Miller and Speaker Busch:

This letter was prepared in response to requirements set forth in § 2-103.4(b) of the Transportation Article concerning special appointments within the Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT). Specifically, this section directs:

- "(b) (1) In the exercise of the Secretary's powers under this section, the Secretary may:
 - (i) Create and abolish any position other than positions specifically provided for in this article; and
 - (ii) Determine the disqualifications, appointment, removal, tenure, terms of employment, and compensation of employees unless otherwise prohibited by law.
 - (2) The Secretary shall designate executive service employee and commission plan employee positions in the Human Resources Management System that:
 - (i) Must be filled without regard to political affiliation, belief, or opinion; or
 - (ii) In accordance with the criteria established under § 6-405(b) of the State Personnel and Pensions Article, may be filled with regard to political affiliation, belief, or opinion.
 - (3) On an annual basis, the Secretary shall report on the total number of positions designated under paragraph (2) of this subsection to the Governor and, in accordance with § 2-1246 of the State Government Article, to the General Assembly."

The positions listed below include those that were eligible to be filled with regard to political affiliation, belief, or opinion. These positions relate to political interests or concerns and according to statute, political affiliation may be considered for the position. The following positions meet the current definition in § 6-405(b)(i) of the State Personnel and Pensions Article.

Special Appointments - MDOT (With Regard to Political Affiliation)				
Assignment	Position			
TSO	Secretary			
TSO	Deputy Secretary			
TSO	Deputy Secretary			
TSO	Administrative Manager Sr. IV			
TSO	Administrative Manager Sr. IV			
TSO	Administrative Manager Sr. IV			
TSO	Administrative Manager Sr. III			
TSO	Administrative Manager Sr. II			
TSO	Administrative Manager Sr. II			
TSO	Div DIR OFC Attorney General			
TSO	Principal Counsel			
TSO	Principle Counsel			
SHA	State Highway Administrator			
SHA	Principal Counsel			
MPA	MIT-Executive Director			
MPA	Principal Counsel			
MVA	Motor Vehicle Administrator			
MVA	Principal Counsel			
MTA	Maryland Transit Administrator			
MTA	Principal Counsel			
MAA	DOT MAA Executive			
MAA	Principal Counsel			
MDTA	MdTA Executive Secretary			
MDTA	Principal Counsel			

Further, the positions identified in the attached list were filled to meet the current definition in § 6-405(b)(ii) of the State Personnel and Pensions Article. These positions do not relate to political interests or concerns, and according to statute, political affiliation was not considered for these positions.

If you have additional questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to contact Ms. Judy Slater, MDOT Human Resources Director at 410-865-1185. Of course, you should always feel free to contact me directly.

Sincerely

James T. Smith, Jr.

Secretary

Attachment

cc: The Honorable Thomas V. "Mike" Miller, Jr., President, Maryland Senate The Honorable Michael E. Busch, Speaker, Maryland House of Delegates Ms. Judy Slater, Human Resources Director, MDOT

Maryland Department of Transportation Designated Political Appointments - At-Will Employment as of May 30, 2014

A				
en e		Pay		
Agency	Position	Grade	Title	Name
and the second s				
MDOT-TSO	006447	·	DESIGNATED ADMINISTRATIVE MGR SENIOR II	DIGGS, DANYELL C
MDOT-TSO	006614	<u> </u>	PRINCIPAL COUNSEL	BROWN-WHITFIELD, CHERYL A.C.
MDOT-TSO	006614	0025	PRINCIPAL COUNSEL	WALCHAK, SCOTT CURTIS
MDOT-TSO	006623	0025	DESIGNATED ADMINISTRATIVE MGR SENIOR III	HWANG, WILLIAM B
MDOT-TSO	006644	0026	DESIGNATED ADMINISTRATIVE MGR SENIOR IV	NACHREINER, BETH F.
MDOT-TSO	006645	0026	DIV DIR OFC ATTY GENERAL	FERGUSON, DENISE R.
MDOT-TSO	006686	9911	SECY OF TRANSPORTATION	SMITH JR, JAMES TEMPLE
MDOT-TSO	006687	9909	DEPUTY SECY DEPT OF TRANS	DORMSJO, LEIF ANDERS
MDOT-TSO	008760	9909	DEPUTY SECY DEPT OF TRANS	PARRAN, WILSON HAMILTON
MDOT-TSO	011865	0026	DESIGNATED ADMINISTRATIVE MGR SENIOR IV	PRINCIPE JR, FRANK J
MDOT-TSO	047444	0024	DESIGNATED ADMINISTRATIVE MGR SENIOR II	SIDH, SAMEER
MDOT-TSO	057281	0026	DESIGNATED ADMINISTRATIVE MGR SENIOR IV	(VAC) GOODEN, KAREN WILLIAMS
MDOT-SHA	006701	9999	STATE HIGHWAY ADMINISTRATOR	PETERS, MELINDA B.
MDOT-SHA	008524	0025	PRINCIPAL COUNSEL	HARRIS, EDWARD S
MDOT-MPA	889573	9999	MPC-EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR	WHITE, JAMES J.
MDOT-MPA	889777	0025	PRINCIPAL COUNSEL, PORT ADMIN	MUNROE, ROBERT L
MDOT-MVA	011583	9909	MOTOR VEHICLE ADMINISTRATOR	CHAFFEE, MILTON
MDOT-MVA	056248	0025	PRINCIPAL COUNSEL	BELL, DAMON L.
MDOT-MTA	900001	9999	ADMINISTRATOR, MTA	SMITH, ROBERT L
MDOT-MTA	900556	0025	PRINCIPAL COUNSEL	SMITH, THADDEUS BYRON
MDOT-MAA	013069	9990	DOT MAA EXECUTIVE	WIEDEFELD, PAUL J.
MDOT-MAA	013345	0025	PRINCIPAL COUNSEL	GOLDSTEIN, LOUISA H
MDOT-MDTA	701724	9909	MDTA EXECUTIVE SECRETARY	GARTNER, BRUCE WARREN
MDOT-MDTA	708601	0025	PRINCIPAL COUNSEL	MILLENDER, KIMBERLY A