

Office of the Secretary

Larry Hogan Governor Boyd K. Rutherford Lt. Governor Pete K. Rahn Secretary

January 3, 2018

The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr. President
The Senate of Maryland
State House, H-107
Annapolis MD 21401

The Honorable Michael E. Busch Speaker The Maryland House of Delegates State House, H0 Annapolis MD 21401

Dear President Miller and Speaker Busch:

As Secretary of the Maryland Department of Transportation and Chairman of the Maryland Port commission, in accordance with Section 6-201.2(a) of the Transportation Article (2013 Supplement), I am submitting this report on actions taken under this subsection during fiscal year 2016. Under Section 6-201.2(a), the Commission is authorized to appoint up to a total of twelve management personnel employees to operate and manage all State-owned port facilities or to perform services for private operating companies created under Section 6-204(q) of the Transportation Article. The Commission was also granted the authority to determine the qualifications, appointments, and compensation for these employees. Section 6-201.2(a)(8) directs that:

"On or before December 1 of each year, the Commission shall report to the Governor and the Legislative Policy Committee of the General Assembly on actions taken by the Commission under this subsection during the previous fiscal year with regard to individuals subject to this subsection."

During fiscal year 2016, the Commission approved removing of the Director of Engineering position from the list of Commission positions and replaced it with Mr. Dave Thomas as the Deputy Executive Director.

During fiscal year 2017, the Commission took the following actions related to these management personnel employees:

The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr. The Honorable Michael E. Busch Page Two

- Approved adjusting the annual compensation of Mr. James White, Commission Executive Director, to the annual salary of \$309,466 (PIN 889573)
- Approved adjusting the annual compensation of Ms. Wonza Spann-Nicholas, Commission Chief Financial Officer & Treasurer, to the annual salary of \$137,299 (PIN 889370)
- Approved adjusting the annual compensation of Mr. Brian Miller, Director of Operations, to the annual salary of \$133,000 (PIN 889713)
- Approved adjusting the annual compensation of Mr. David Espie, Director of Security, to the annual salary of \$110,000 (PIN 889798)
- Approved adjusting the annual compensation of Mr. Donovan Murray, General Manager Intermodal Trade and Development, to the annual salary of \$125,000 (PIN 889308)
- Approved adjusting the annual compensation of Mr. Richard Powers, Director of Marketing, to the annual salary of \$147,761(PIN 889619)
- Approved adjusting the annual compensation of Ms. Cynthia Burman, General Manager of Cruise Maryland Marketing, to the annual salary of \$105,000 (PIN 889452)
- Approved adjusting the annual compensation of Mr. Chris Correale, Director of Harbor Development, to an annual salary of \$140,000 (PIN 889454).
- Approved adjusting the annual compensation of the vacant position of Commission BCO Trade Development Executive, to the annual salary of \$105,000. This position was ultimately filled by Mr. Nicholas Porter on February 1, 2017. (PIN 889598)
- Approved adjusting the annual compensation of Mr. David Thomas, Deputy Director of Logistics/Port Operations, to the annual salary of \$190,000 (PIN 889364)

If you have any questions, please contact Mr. James J. White, MDOT MPA Executive Director at 410-385-4400. Of course, you may always contact me directly.

Pete K. Rahn Secretary

Sincerely.

cc: Members of the Legislative Policy Committee, Maryland General Assembly

Mr. David Brinkley, Secretary, Department of Budget and Management

Ms. Sarah Albert, Mandated Reports Specialist, DLS

Mr. James J. White, Executive Director, MDOT MPA

The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr. The Honorable Michael E. Busch Page Three

bcc: Mr. James F. Ports, Jr., Deputy Secretary of Operations, MDOT

Mr. R. Earl Lewis, Jr., Deputy Secretary of Policy, Planning & Enterprise Services, MDOT

Mr. Edward F. McDonald, Chief of Staff, MDOT

Mr. Jeff Tosi, Director, Office of Governmental Affairs, MDOT

Mr. Tom Curtin, State Legislative Officer, MDOT

Mrs. Ellie Simmons, State and Federal Legislative Analyst, MDOT

Mrs. Trish Westervelt, Legislative Manager, MDOT