

Larry Hogan Governor

Boyd K. Rutherford Lt. Governor

Pete K. Rahn Secretary

November 17, 2016

The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr. Chairman
Legislative Policy Committee
State House, H-101
Annapolis MD 21401-1991

The Honorable Michael E. Busch Chairman Legislative Policy Committee State House, H-107 Annapolis MD 21401-1991

Dear President Miller and Speaker Busch:

In accordance with Section 6-201.2(a) of the Transportation Article (2013 Supplement), I am submitting this report as Chairman of the Maryland Port Commission (Commission) on actions taken under this subsection during fiscal year 2016. Under Section 6-201.2(a), the Commission is authorized to appoint up to a total of twelve management personnel employees to operate and manage all State-owned port facilities or to perform services for private operating companies created under Section 6-204(q) of the Transportation Article. The Commission was also granted the authority to determine the qualifications, appointments, and compensation for these employees. The statute directs that:

"On or before December 1 of each year, the Commission shall report to the Governor and the Legislative Policy Committee of the General Assembly on actions taken by the Commission under this subsection during the previous fiscal year with regard to individuals subject to this subsection."

During fiscal year 2016, the Commission took the following action related to these management personnel employees:

• Approved the appointment of Mr. Chris Correale as Director of Harbor Development with an annual salary of \$125,676 (PIN 889454).

The Honorable Thomas V. Mike Miller, Jr. The Honorable Michael E. Busch Page Two

If you have any questions, please contact Mr. James J. White, Maryland Department of Transportation's Maryland Port Administration Executive Director, at 410-385-4400. Of course, you may always contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Pete K. Rahn Chairman

Maryland Port Commission

cc: The Honorable Larry Hogan, Governor, State of Maryland

Members of the Legislative Policy Committee

Mr. David Brinkley, Secretary, Department of Budget and Management

Mr. James J. White, Executive Director, Maryland Port Administration

Ms. Sarah Albert, Mandated Reports Specialist, DLS, MSAR 9810