

Martin O'Malley Governor

Anthony G. Brown Lt. Governor

James T. Smith, Jr. Secretary

September 3, 2014

The Honorable Thomas V. "Mike" Miller, Jr. President, Maryland Senate and Chair, Legislative Policy Committee State House
Annapolis MD 21401-1991

The Honorable Michael E. Busch Speaker, Maryland House of Delegates and Chair, Legislative Policy Committee State House Annapolis MD 21401-1991

Dear President Miller and Speaker Busch:

In accordance with Section 6-201.2(a) of the Transportation Article (2013 Supplement), I am submitting this report as Chairman of the Maryland Port Commission (Commission) on actions taken under this subsection during fiscal year 2014. Under Section 6-201.2(a), the Commission is authorized to appoint up to a total of twelve management personnel employees to operate and manage all State-owned port facilities or to perform services for private operating companies created under Section 6-204(q) of the Transportation Article. The Commission was also granted the authority to determine the qualifications, appointments, and compensation for these employees. Section 6-201.2(a)(8) directs that:

"On or before December 1 of each year, the Commission shall report to the Governor and the Legislative Policy Committee of the General Assembly on actions taken by the Commission under this subsection during the previous fiscal year with regard to individuals subject to this subsection."

During fiscal year 2014, the Commission took the following actions related to these management personnel employees:

- Approved the appointment of Mark Kreafle as Director of Engineering with an annual salary of \$120,000 (PIN 889466).
- Approved the appointment of Wonza Spann-Nichols as Director of Finance with an annual salary of \$122,000 (PIN 889370).

The Honorable Thomas V. "Mike" Miller, Jr. The Honorable Michael E. Busch Page Two

- Approved <u>salary increases of 3 percent</u> to be comparable to the Cost of Living Allowance given to State employees for the following management personnel employees:
 - o Jim White to \$270,047 (PIN 889573)
 - o Kathy Broadwater to \$162,393 (PIN 889628)
 - o Dave Thomas to \$145,599 (PIN889364)
 - o Mike Miller to \$129,984 (PIN889781)
 - o Rick Powers to \$136,548 (PIN889619)
 - o Mark Kreafle to \$123,600 (PIN889466)
 - o Wonza Spann-Nicholas to \$125,600 (PIN889370)
 - o Joe Greco to \$112,520 (PIN889308)
 - o David Espie to \$94,544 (PIN889798)
 - o Cindy Burman to \$84,514 (PIN889452)

The increases noted above were designed and voted on to reflect the cost of living and step increases given to State employees. The Commission also:

- Approved the appointment of David Blazer as Deputy Director of Harbor Development with an annual salary of \$112,500 (PIN889454).
- Approved the appointment of Joe Greco as Director of Intermodal/Trade Development with an annual salary of \$133,602 (PIN889308).

If you have any questions, please contact me at 410-865-1000 or Mr. James J. White, Executive Director of the Maryland Port Administration (MPA). at 410-385-4400.

Sincerely,

James T. Smith, Jr.

Chair, Maryland Port Commission

Secretary, Maryland Department of Transportation

cc: Members of the Legislative Policy Committee, Maryland General Assembly Ms. Eloise Foster, Secretary, Department of Budget and Management Mr. James J. White, Executive Director, MPA