

Statewide Advisory Commission on Immunizations

November 30, 2018

2018 COMMISSION

The Honorable Larry Hogan

Former Chair

Governor

Dianna Abney, MD, FAAP

100 State Circle Annapolis, MD 21401

Members

The Honorable Joan Carter Conway

Anne Bailowitz, MD, MPH

Chair

David Blythe, MD, MPH

Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee

2 West, Miller Senate Office Building

Yen Dang, PharmD

Annapolis, MD 21401

Heather Dunning, RN

Toby Gordon, Sc.D

The Honorable Shane E. Pendergrass

Chair

Jeffery Kaplan, MD

Health and Government Operations Committee

Victoria McIntyre

Room 241, House Office Building

Alicia Mezu, MSN/Ed., RN

Annapolis, MD 21401

J. Crossan O'Donovan, DO

Dear Governor Hogan, Chair Conway, and Chair Pendergrass:

Robert Sadowski, MD, MBA

Monique Soileau-Burke, MD

Rosalyn Stewart, MD

Tiffany Tate, MHS

Sara Vazer, MD

Roseann Velez, DNP

In accordance with Health-General Article §18-214(k), the Statewide Advisory Commission on Immunizations (the Commission) is submitting this annual report to the Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee and the House Health and Government Operations Committee. The Commission is charged with determining where community vaccine shortages exist, developing recommendations for equitable distribution of vaccines, making recommendations for how to increase immunizations, and studying and making recommendations about other vaccine-related issues.

STAFF

Kurt Seetoo, MPH

kurt.seetoo@maryland.gov

The Commission held one meeting in May during Calendar Year 2018. Due to the unexpected resignation of the Commission's Chair in August, the September and subsequent meetings were cancelled. The process to replace the Commission Chair has been initiated. During the May 2018 meeting, the Commission received updates on current immunization recommendations and discussed activities related to promotion of the human papillomavirus (HPV) vaccine among adolescents. The Commission noted no community vaccine shortages or vaccines in short supply.

This letter shall serve as the Commission's annual report for Calendar Year 2018. If you have any questions, please contact me at 410-767-6679 or kurt.seetoo@maryland.gov.

Sincerely,

Kurt F. Seetoo, Staff

Cc:

Webster Ye, JD, Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of the Secretary

Frances Phillips, RN, MHA, Deputy Secretary, Public Health Services

Donna Gugel, MHS, Director, Prevention and Health Promotion Administration David Blythe, MD, MPH, Director, Infectious Disease Epidemiology and Outbreak

Response Bureau

Sarah T. Albert MSAR #8248