Statewide Advisory Commission on Immunizations

January 20, 2015

2014 COMMISSION

Members

The Honorable Martin O'Malley

Governor

Julie Ake, MD 100 State Circle

Kathleen Becker, DNP, CRNP Annapolis, MD 21401

David Blythe, MD, MPH

The Honorable Joan Carter Conway, Chair

Gregory Branch, MD, MBA Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee

Anne Bailowitz, MD, MPH

Senate Office Building, 2 West Wing

Annapolis, MD 21401

Charles Fleming

The Honorable Peter Hammen, Chair

Jeffrey Kaplan, MD

Health and Government Operations Committee

Alicia Mezu, MSN/Ed, RN

House Office Building, Room 241

Charles Medani, MD, MBA

Annapolis, MD 21401

Dear Governor O'Malley, Chair Conway, and Chair Hammen:
Jim Rice, MD

Deena Speights-Napata, MA

J. Crossan O'Donovan, MD

Tiffany Tate, MHS

Jennifer Thomas, Pharm.D.

Sara Vazer, MD

Commission on Immunizations (the Commission) is submitting this annual report to the

In accordance with Health-General Article §18-214(k), the Statewide Advisory

Senate Education, Health, and Environmental Affairs Committee and the House Health and Government Operations Committee. The Commission is charged with determining where community vaccine shortages exist, developing recommendations for equitable distribution of vaccines, making recommendations for how to increase immunizations, and

studying and making recommendations about other vaccine-related issues.

STAFF

Greg Reed, MPA

Tel: 410-767-6679 Fax: 410-333-5893

DHMH.IZInfo@immunizemaryland.org

The Commission did not convene in CY 2014. The Chair position was vacant during this time period, and due to numerous expiring terms and retiring members, several positions were in the process of appointment. New Commission members are expected to be in place for 2015, and it is anticipated that the Commission will focus on the State's Immunization registry, ImmuNet, and HPV vaccination for adolescents.

This letter shall serve as the Commission's annual report for CY 2014. If you have any questions, please contact me at 410-767-6679 or greg.reed@maryland.gov.

Sincerely,

Greg K. Reed, MPA

Staff

Statewide Advisory Commission on Immunization

CC: Laura Herrera Scott, Acting Secretary, Department of Health and Mental Hygiene Allison Taylor, Director, Office of Governmental Affairs
Michelle Spencer, Director, Prevention and Health Promotion Administration
David Blythe, Director, Infectious Disease Bureau
Sarah Albert, MSAR #8248