

**INTERIM REPORT** 

SB 1034/Ch. 912, 2024 HB 1162/Ch. 911, 2024

9-1-1 Specialist Recruitment and Retention Workgroup

Department of Legislative Services

Maryland Department of Emergency Management.

February 4, 2025



# THE MARYLAND GENERAL ASSEMBLY ANNAPOLIS, MARYLAND 21401-1991

# 9-1-1 SPECIALIST RECRUITMENT AND RETENTION WORKGROUP

February 4, 2025

The Honorable Wes Moore Governor

The Honorable Bill Ferguson President of the Senate

The Honorable Adrienne A. Jones Speaker of the House of Delegates

Re: 9-1-1 Specialist Recruitment and Retention Workgroup Interim Report

Dear Governor Moore, President Ferguson, and Speaker Jones:

In accordance with Chapters 911 and 912 of 2024, I am pleased to submit the Interim Report from the 9-1-1 Specialist Recruitment and Retention Workgroup. As you know, due to our Workgroup's first meeting taking place in December 2024, the Workgroup requested an extension of the December 1, 2024 deadline to submit its interim report.

Pursuant to Chapters 911 and 912, the Workgroup has begun a process of:

- reviewing the reports submitted by the Commission to Advance Next Generation 9-1-1 Across Maryland, established by Chapters 301 and 302 of 2018, as amended by Chapter 506 of 2020;
- identifying and examining recruitment, training, and retention challenges that affect 9 1-1 Specialists in the State, including specified information; and
- making recommendations regarding (1) the effectiveness and viability of uniform incentives, offerings, or practices employed in Maryland jurisdictions and other states to attract, support, and retain individuals in 9-1-1 Specialist roles; (2) the feasibility of, and any barriers to, incorporating 9-1-1 Specialists into the Law Enforcement Officers' Pension

February 4, 2025 Page 2

System; and (3) any other issues the Workgroup considers relevant to enhancing and supporting career 9-1-1 Specialists in the State.

The Workgroup has held two meetings to date:

- **December 19, 2024** The Workgroup's first meeting, on December 19, included (1) member introductions; (2) a review of the Workgroup's responsibilities; (3) election of the chair of the Workgroup; and (4) discussion of a plan for the Workgroup's initial efforts through May 2025. That plan included (1) development of an information-gathering survey of county 9-1-1 centers for approval at a January 2025 meeting; (2) staff implementation of the survey and Workgroup member review of past reports, during the period from February through April 2025; and (3) a May 2025 meeting to review information gathered through the survey and to plan the Workgroup's efforts over subsequent months.
- January 27, 2025 The Workgroup's January 27 meeting focused on discussion and approval of (1) the information-gathering survey to send to county 9-1-1 centers and (2) this interim report. The Workgroup has developed a comprehensive survey that we hope will enhance our efforts.

As mentioned above, in the plan discussed at the December 2024 meeting, the Workgroup plans to reconvene in May 2025 (after the 2025 legislative session) to review information gathered through the survey and to plan the Workgroup's efforts over subsequent months. The Workgroup looks forward to working to produce findings and recommendations in its final report (by December 1, 2025) that will benefit current and future 9-1-1 Specialists in the State and the State's public safety as a whole.

Sincerely,

Senator Cheryl C. Kagan

Chair

CCK/AA:LT/dab

cc: Members, 9-1-1 Specialist Recruitment and Retention Workgroup Senator Brian J. Feldman Delegate Joseline A. Pena-Melnyk Victoria L. Gruber Ryan Bishop

# Maryland General Assembly 9-1-1 Specialist Recruitment and Retention Workgroup 2024 Interim Membership Roster

# Senator Cheryl C. Kagan, Chair

#### Senator

Senator Mary Beth Carozza

# **Delegates**

Delegate Teresa E. Reilly Delegate Jamila J. Woods

#### **Public Members**

#### Ashley N. Burgan

Acting PSAP Director, Carroll County Government Emergency Communications

#### Cathryn Caw

Emergency Communications Manager, Frederick County Government, Department of Emergency Communications

#### Dr. Christy Collins

9-1-1 Board Executive Director, Maryland Department of Emergency
Management

#### Nathanael Cooney

Huram Resources Business Partner, Harford County Government, Department of Human Resources

#### Charlynn F. Flaherty

Director of Public Safety Communications/Deputy Director Office of Homeland Security, Prince George's County Government

# Major Tawn Gregory

Assistant Bureau Chief, Support Services Bureau, Maryland Department of State Police

#### Tamara Haney

Public Safety Emergency Communications Battalion Chief, Harford County Government

# Randy Linthicum

Deputy Director, Maryland Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems

# Bryant K. Mitchell

Deputy Director, Dorchester County Government Communications Division

# Stacey Norton

Human Resources Director, Worcester County Government

# Tenea L. Reddick

9-1-1 Director, City of Baltimore

# Captain Robert Stevenson

City of Bowie Police Department

# Shariff Q. Thomas

Public Safety Emergency Communication Specialist IV, Montgomery County
Department of Police

# Cecilia Warren

Director of Emergency Preparedness Policy, Maryland Department of Disabilities